Thursday, June 12, 2014

Review: Rebecca's Lost Journal, by Lisa Renee Jones

Includes Rebecca’s Lost Journals #1-4 
(The SeductionThe ContractHis SubmissiveMy Master)
and The Master Undone

In this stand alone collection connected to the Best Selling Inside Out Series, you meet Rebecca Mason, the intriguing woman who penned an erotic journal that changed everyone’s life it touched. This is her story, in her words.....

Rebecca’s Lost Journals.....

Rebecca Mason has known heartache and sorrow in her life, losing everyone she loves. She’s on her own in San Francisco, lost in every way, until she dares to make the decision to chase her dream of working in the art world. It is then that he meets a rich, seductively powerful man who will become the Master she never knew she wanted and change her life forever. He will lead her on a dark, passionate journey where pain is pleasure and pleasure is pain, and where every limit she once had is no more. In this man, she will find solace to her pain, an escape from the ache inside her. And in him, she will discover a darkness she may never escape.

Bonus Story included:

Master Undone in his POV... 

I told him goodbye, and I will not call him. I know if I do, it will be my undoing, and I'll once again be caught up in his spell. I will once again be . . . lost.

In her private journals, Rebecca laid bare her soul, revealing her obsession for the one man whose erotic demands captivated her imagination--and enslaved her forever. Now, with Rebecca no longer in his life "he" is lost, questioning everything he thought he knew about himself and about control he holds in such high regard. One women will reach out to heal him and then turn away, leaving him haunted. She is nothing he thought he wanted and somehow everything he needs. He tells himself to forget her but he cannot escape his desire for her. He has to have more...

4 out of 5 stars

When I started Rebecca’s Lost Journals I wasn’t aware they were a bonus addition to Lisa Renee Jones Inside Out Series.  However, now having read them in their entirety, including the last section from Mark’s perspective, I can without a doubt say I am hooked, intrigued and will definitely be starting the series from its beginning.

This book is actually a collection of journal entries written by a woman named Rebecca who after being emotionally and physically drawn to her boss hesitantly enters into a BDSM relationship as his submissive.  These entries detail her emotions and thoughts and she struggles with her decision and eventual commitment into this type of relationship.  

Being as it is entirely from Rebecca’s POV you get a first hand look not only into her reservations but also her intrigue.  I enjoyed watching her struggle through all the emotions and then afterwards I felt her fall in love with this man and the heartbreak which followed when she realized it could not longer continue without losing herself completely.

This collection of stories, told in a narrative voice, is addicting!  I was so sad when it ended because I wanted to know what happened to Rebecca, I am dying to also know how Mark felt and why he was drawn to the BDSM lifestyle.  Did he really care for Rebecca, and if so why did he let her go?  How sad for Rebecca to fall head over heels in love with a man who couldn’t return those same feelings.  In the end I respected Rebecca’s character for staying true to herself, for going after what she wanted and especially for not settling.

I would say if you have read the Inside Out series then Rebecca’s Lost Journals is a must read for you, because I think it allows you to get to know her in a way I imagine you don’t throughout the other books.  If however you haven’t read the Inside Out Series then I would say you should also give this book a chance, and if you find yourself intrigued and wanting more then you can spend the money on the rest of the series.  Rebecca’s lost journals is a great way to see if this is a series you would enjoy.

No comments:

Post a Comment