Monday, March 19, 2018

Review: The Valiant (Spy Girl #4), by Jillian Dodd



From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the fourth book in a sizzling series filled with action and adventure. Fans of The Selection and The Hunger Games will discover a heart-pounding thrill ride of espionage and suspense set in glittering high society.


What will happen when the world goes ka-boom? 

The assassin known as The Priest was tasked with a series of three hits, and the last one blows up in his face—literally. 
People will die. 
People will go on. 
Unlikely alliances will be formed.
And when British intelligence learns that a series of nuclear backpack bombs were smuggled into their country, there’s a lot more to worry about than discovering why a covert agent was assassinated over six years ago or what’s going to start in Montrovia.



Review
4 out of 5 stars

I was on pins and needles when the bomb went off in book #3 and then ended, leaving us wondering about Huntley and Lorenzo's potential demise!  I mean if they had died there really wouldn't have been a need to continue the story so I felt confident they would make it but I was dying to know how Jillian would spin it.  Let me just say she did it brilliantly!

So what did I love about this installment?  Mainly Huntley and Lorenzo's relationship.  It's like they are both finally on the same page, the same team and have the same goals in mind.  They have finally freely admitted their feelings for one another and while Huntley is struggling to balance feelings she was trained to stay away from she continues to push through and choose love.  I was so excited and felt all the "feels."  She's a girl on a mission and I especially enjoyed the "treasure hunt."  I think watching her re-live her memories left me feeling more connected to her character.

What I found myself frustrated with was trying to keep track of all the secondary characters and their back stories.  Jillian, if you're reading this review, can we get a flow chart or something at the start of the next book with a little brief synopsis of where the previous book left off?  I think because I read other books in between waiting on the new releases of this series I forget important details and then I spend the first several chapters trying to re-familiarize myself with the players and that takes away from really being able to focus on the important details and clues as the new material progresses.  Maybe I should just re-read the previous book before I start the new release?!?!

I do wish Huntley hadn't reacted so quickly and stormed out at the first sign of trouble in paradise.  I would have loved to of seen the two of them stand united, fight for one another and their relationship.  I think they are stronger and better together and only hope they figure this out very quickly in the next  book because I'd much rather see them stand together than apart.

Needless to say I love these characters and really do enjoy this series.  I without a doubt recommend you take the plunge into this series yourself!  It's full of mystery, love and seriously who wouldn't want to pretend they were living vicariously through this Spy Girl as they escaped their own reality?

11 comments:

  1. I have seen some great stuff here. Worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you put to create such a great informative website. Your work is truly appreciated around the clock and the globe. New York city asian escorts

    ReplyDelete
  2. As stated in the blog, the same thing I experienced last weekend. New York Asian escorts are really the fantastic pick for having absolutely sensual night. All the girls available with the agency are really good looking. The blog has only discussed the real services the agency offers. Authentic information!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I was scared at the first time that the information provided maybe false. But when I booked the service and New York Asian escorts came to my service, and then I became really happy. The service was up to the mark and as per the information given here. It is 100% genuine and you must go for it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I came across this blog post when I was alone. Reading through it, I felt good. At the very instant I hire GFE service of the agency and got a surprising beautiful Asian escorts New York in my service. She was cooperative and entertained me a lot as per my expectations. Thanks for being so genuine!

    ReplyDelete
  5. The detailed analysis of New York Asian escorts here is the best piece of information you can find nowhere else. I was just curious to know about such services and finally this post helped me in getting the desired info. I would love to read more like this.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I was hesitating when I was in a mood to hire my partner among the beautiful New York Asian escorts. But after reading this post, I got the enough confidence and finally booked the service. It was more than my expectation and the sweet girl nailed my erotic fantasies across the night. It was just the best.

    ReplyDelete
  7. After reading this post, what I have concluded that hiring a NYC Asian escort is absolutely the best idea to have gala time. The detailed service and proficiency would really make me enjoy my fantasy world into reality. It’s too good. I am ready to hire a girl.

    ReplyDelete