Thursday, September 29, 2016

Review: The Eagle, by Jillian Dodd


Synopsis
Revenge won’t change anything—or will it?

From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the second book in a sizzling series filled with action and adventure. Fans of The Selection and The Hunger Games will discover a heart-pounding thrill ride of espionage and suspense set in glittering high society.

The world’s most deadly assassin, a man known only as The Priest, has come back from the dead to take a series of high profile hits. When the assassin completes his first task—shooting an important world leader, the global community goes into collective shock and his government vows retaliation.

With her cover firmly cemented as Huntley Von Allister, Spy Girl’s vacation on the Royal Yacht is cut short when she’s called home for her next mission—and, this time, it’s personal. 
Can Huntley accomplish her mission before the next hit takes place? 
And what will happen when she finally comes face-to-face with the man who killed her mother?


Review
4.25 out of 5 stars

The Eagle picks up right where we left off in The Prince (Formerly known as Spy Girl) and it doesn't slow down at all!  This time around I felt the pace throughout the entire book was more smooth and just simply flowed better.  I was telling my blog partner when I finished it that I can feel myself getting more and more addicted the further in the series I go.  Jillian Dodd really has a knack for creating these crazy worlds full of characters who you cannot help but love, but what makes this series unique is the mystery surrounding Agent X, better known as Huntley.

As The Eagle begins we find Huntley relaxing on a yacht wondering what her next mission will be, hopeful she will one day be able to look her mother's assassin in the eyes as she ends his life.  She's been so focused, so driven since she entered Blackwood Academy that's she never really thought to question anything.  However, as the story unfolds lines begin blurring and as Agent X finds herself within the grasp of her one goal, a chance encounter not only changes her path, but leaves her longing for answers, unsure of reality and relying on her gut instincts.  Who should she trust?  Who is she really?  Why was she sent to Blackwood Academy?  Can she trust her employer?  Should she trust them?

Yet aside from all of those struggles, she is also dealing with a Prince she loves, but is unwilling to admit to herself, and a Vice President's son who makes it easy to have a fun relationship without having to worry about her heart falling from him (but side note...she has no clue she is in love with the Price or that she won't ever truly fall for the VP's son).  And who doesn't love watching a young girl navigate matters of the heart for the first time.  It's the icing on the cake for me!  I'm just going to go ahead and state the Prince is my choice, their connection is genuine and feels so "real."

What's crazy is as much as we learned about Agent X, as many questions as were answered there were just as many new questions posed that I feel just as confused as Huntley!  I am super excited for book 3 and hope we do not have to wait to long to jump back into all the action.  For me I felt by the end of the book that Jillian Dodd had fallen into her story-telling "groove," providing us with a story that I anticipate with each book readers will find themselves begging for more and more pages.  Huntley's life may be confusing, but it's also a really fun place to escape to and she is a really easy character to not only like but to also cheer for.  She's kick-ass but also has this soft, nurturing side which makes her very endearing.  

No comments:

Post a Comment