Thursday, September 29, 2016

Review: The Eagle, by Jillian Dodd

Revenge won’t change anything—or will it?

From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the second book in a sizzling series filled with action and adventure. Fans of The Selection and The Hunger Games will discover a heart-pounding thrill ride of espionage and suspense set in glittering high society.

The world’s most deadly assassin, a man known only as The Priest, has come back from the dead to take a series of high profile hits. When the assassin completes his first task—shooting an important world leader, the global community goes into collective shock and his government vows retaliation.

With her cover firmly cemented as Huntley Von Allister, Spy Girl’s vacation on the Royal Yacht is cut short when she’s called home for her next mission—and, this time, it’s personal. 
Can Huntley accomplish her mission before the next hit takes place? 
And what will happen when she finally comes face-to-face with the man who killed her mother?

4.25 out of 5 stars

The Eagle picks up right where we left off in The Prince (Formerly known as Spy Girl) and it doesn't slow down at all!  This time around I felt the pace throughout the entire book was more smooth and just simply flowed better.  I was telling my blog partner when I finished it that I can feel myself getting more and more addicted the further in the series I go.  Jillian Dodd really has a knack for creating these crazy worlds full of characters who you cannot help but love, but what makes this series unique is the mystery surrounding Agent X, better known as Huntley.

As The Eagle begins we find Huntley relaxing on a yacht wondering what her next mission will be, hopeful she will one day be able to look her mother's assassin in the eyes as she ends his life.  She's been so focused, so driven since she entered Blackwood Academy that's she never really thought to question anything.  However, as the story unfolds lines begin blurring and as Agent X finds herself within the grasp of her one goal, a chance encounter not only changes her path, but leaves her longing for answers, unsure of reality and relying on her gut instincts.  Who should she trust?  Who is she really?  Why was she sent to Blackwood Academy?  Can she trust her employer?  Should she trust them?

Yet aside from all of those struggles, she is also dealing with a Prince she loves, but is unwilling to admit to herself, and a Vice President's son who makes it easy to have a fun relationship without having to worry about her heart falling from him (but side note...she has no clue she is in love with the Price or that she won't ever truly fall for the VP's son).  And who doesn't love watching a young girl navigate matters of the heart for the first time.  It's the icing on the cake for me!  I'm just going to go ahead and state the Prince is my choice, their connection is genuine and feels so "real."

What's crazy is as much as we learned about Agent X, as many questions as were answered there were just as many new questions posed that I feel just as confused as Huntley!  I am super excited for book 3 and hope we do not have to wait to long to jump back into all the action.  For me I felt by the end of the book that Jillian Dodd had fallen into her story-telling "groove," providing us with a story that I anticipate with each book readers will find themselves begging for more and more pages.  Huntley's life may be confusing, but it's also a really fun place to escape to and she is a really easy character to not only like but to also cheer for.  She's kick-ass but also has this soft, nurturing side which makes her very endearing.  

Monday, September 19, 2016

Review: Epic Love by Trudy Stiles

HEATH STRICKLAND, the son of a prominent district attorney, lived his life surrounded by violence and crime. He was an unwilling witness to the corrupt lives his father swore to prosecute and keep behind bars. His escape was his music, which eventually led him to replace the iconic singer of the world famous band, Epic Fail.

NOELLE DURAND lived in luxury, growing up on a sprawling estate, with everything she could ever want or need. Her life, to everyone else, seemed perfect. Perfect house. Perfect things. Perfect family. But nothing at all was perfect. She lived in hell. A hell that nobody on the outside could see.

As a neighbor and childhood friend, Heath would have done anything for Noelle. He would have given up the world to protect her and keep her safe. Their friendship grew into something that neither of them expected. But then she suddenly disappeared, vanishing from his life as if she never existed. He never stopped hoping that one day she would resurface, alive and well. But as time went by, and her family gave up hope, he surrendered his heart to his lost love.

Twelve years later, one phone call changes everything.

EPIC LOVE is the third book in the EPIC FAIL series and can be read as a STANDALONE novel. 

This series is a spinoff from the FOREVER FAMILY series.

Review:  4.5 of 5 Stars

I adore Trudy Stiles and her writing style.  The first two books in the Epic Fail series were so good that I could not wait to dig into this one as well!  I didn't have a huge connection with Heath in the previous books, but I knew that Trudy would weave her magic and make me fall in love with this story.

Heath's character is easy to love.  He is a huge rock star singer for Epic Fail but his personality is what makes him awesome.  I loved the flash backs from Heath's POV as they really highlighted his character.  When he first met Noelle as a child playing wiffle ball, I instantly fell in love.  He is protective, loves fierce,  and is respectful...the perfect combination.

Noelle's story is honestly heartbreaking.  She has such an innocence and is so sweet.  No one deserves to be treated the way is treated by her step-mother, Tonya.  She could put the evil queen in Snow White to shame.  Her past is so horrific that it is a miracle she turned out as wonderful as she did.

I have to say, the first 1/2 of the book was intense and kept me on the edge of my seat.  I devoured it and when things did change, I kept waiting on more drama to shake Heath and Noelle to the core.  I think I was so worried something else terrible was going to happen, I did not enjoy the second half as much as it deserved.  Epic Love is just what the title describes.  I loved it from cover to cover and plan on reading the second half again just to revel in the beauty of the story.  Well done, Trudy!